Precious “Lost” Tolkien Story to be Published For the First Time

Precious “Lost” Tolkien Story to be Published For the First Time

by -


“Not all those who wander are lost” — and not all lost manuscripts stay that way.

Fans of “The Hobbit” and “Lord of the Rings” have a new book to look forward to — one that J.R.R. Tolkien wrote more than 100 years ago. It was his first fantasy work and, though never finished, it laid the foundation for every book he’d go on to write.

Brand New Book by Dr. Seuss–Was Lost–Now Published 55 Years Later


Tolkien wrote “The Story of Kullervo” while at Oxford University in 1914. World War I interrupted his work on it, but he later called it “the germ of my attempt to write legends of my own.”

It’s about a young man who seeks revenge against an evil magician and Tolkien used the title character as a basis for the hero in “The Silmarillion” years later.go-set-a-watchman-book-cover

Harper Lee Novel, Watchman, Released After 50 yrs of Anticipation


The Story of Kullervo will be available in the UK on August 27, and in the U.S. October 27, but is available for pre-order now. It will include Tolkien’s drafts and notes on the work.

(READ more from The Verge)

Notify Your Ring Of Friends And Followers…