recyclingcomputer.jpgIndiana became the first state to pass a major electronics recycling law this year, and the nineteenth state to pass a law creating a statewide electronics program.

Eighteen of the 19 states —  California, Maine, Maryland, Washington, Connecticut, Minnesota, Oregon, Texas, North Carolina, New Jersey, New York City, Oklahoma, Virginia, West Virginia, Missouri, Hawaii, Rhode Island, Illinois, Michigan and now, Indiana — have adopted ‘producer takeback’ laws, requiring the manufacturers to pay for the collection and recycling of old products.

(Continue reading the good news at Sustainable Business)

Leave a Reply