Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf-CC-Antonio Cruz-ABrLiberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, activist Leymah Gbowee of Liberia and rights activist Tawakkul Karman of Yemen share the honor of being awarded this year’s Nobel Peace Prize, the Norwegian Nobel Committee announced Friday.

They were chosen “for their nonviolent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace-building work,” the committee said in Oslo, Norway.

“We cannot achieve democracy and lasting peace in the world unless women obtain the same opportunities as men to influence developments at all levels of society.”

(READ the story in CNN)

Leave a Reply